There is Hope Without Progress

by Remains of Youth

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

      name your price




Remains of Youth are Andrew Melville, Adam Shirlow, Michael Henderson, Chris McCorry.

All songs written and performed by Remains of Youth.
Additional Saxophone by Tom Tabori on One Part Familiar.
Lyrical input from Chris Jenkins on Distraction, Silence, Acceptance.

All songs recorded and mixed by Rocky O'Reilly at Start Together Studios, Belfast in April 2016, except 'Distraction, Silence, Acceptance', recorded and mixed by Remains of Youth at home in July 2016.

Artwork by Glenn Kennedy.
Typesetting by Studio Stereo.

Further thanks to Ian Blackstock, Jonny Lloyd, Gareth Scott, Ryan Shirlow, our friends, families and anyone else who has helped along the way.


released July 29, 2016



all rights reserved


Remains of Youth Belfast, UK

contact / help

Contact Remains of Youth

Streaming and
Download help

Track Name: Distraction, Silence, Acceptance
Belfast will never be bohemian;
Not while we are young,
But we are not so young,

And all the while we have become -
Or - are we still becoming?
What we set out not to be.
Was this always meant to be?

Or were we just distracted,
And swallowed up by silence;
The silence of our friends and fathers,
And all who went before.

Did they say nothing?
Or did they just have nothing to say?
The answers don't matter now.
This place is what it is.

The streets don’t look familiar,
But I recognise the people,
They live without living,
And aspire without aspirations.

We were inspired without inspiration.
It was faith without hope,
It was hope without progress,
But what is progress?

This place still knows itself,
And one day we might even know ourselves.
For now we create, to create
For now we return, to relate.